Decision details

Appointment of Portfolio Holder Assistants

Decision status: Recommendations Approved (subject to call-in)

Is Key decision?: No

Is subject to call in?: Yes




(1)           the appointment of the identified Portfolio Holder Assistants and responsibilities be approved as set out in the table below, noting that these superseded previous appointments;


Portfolio Holder Assistant


Identified Remit

Responsible Cabinet Member

Cllr Chris Baxter


Cllr Paul Osborn

Cllr Philip Benjamin

Planning and Regeneration

Cllr Marilyn Ashton

Cllr Janet Mote

Customer Experience and Civic Pride

Cllr Stephen Greek

Cllr Matthew Goodwin-Freeman

People (Children and Adult Services)

Cllr Hitesh Karia/Cllr Pritesh Patel

Cllr Nitesh Hirani

Business and Employment

Cllr Norman Stevenson

Cllr Kuha Kumaran


Cllr Stephen Greek

Cllr Nicola Blackman

Infrastructure and Highways

Cllr Anjana Patel

Cllr Vipin Mithani

Community Safety

Cllr Anjana Patel

Cllr Zak Wagman


Cllr David Ashton




(2)           the payment of Special Responsibility Allowance (SRA) to the Portfolio Holder Assistants from 14 September 2023 be approved.


Reason for Decision:  To enable the support to Cabinet Members in terms of information provision and management, to contribute to and ensure an effective decision-making framework as part of the democratic process.

Report author: Jessica Farmer

Publication date: 15/09/2023

Date of decision: 14/09/2023

Decided at meeting: 14/09/2023 - Cabinet

Date comes into force if not called in: 23/09/2023

Call-in deadline date: 22/09/2023

Accompanying Documents: