REPORT FOR: ANNUAL COUNCIL

Date of Meeting:	25 May 2010
Subject:	Return of Councillors and Notification of Members of political groups, including Leaders, Deputy Leaders and Party Whips
Responsible Officer:	Hugh Peart – Director of Legal and Governance Services
Exempt:	No
Enclosures:	Appendix A – List of Elected Members

Section 1 – Purpose

1. Summary

- 1.1 This report sets out details of the Councillors elected at the Election held on Thursday 6 May 2010 and the notification received of the Membership of political groups on the Council. It will be seen that there are 34 Labour Group Members and 27 Conservative Group Members. There is also one Liberal Democrat Member and one Independent Member.
- 1.2 Notification has been received that the Leader of the Majority Group is Councillor Bill Stephenson, the Deputy Leader, Councillor Phillip O'Dell and Chief Whip, Councillor Nizam Ismail. The Minority Party have notified that their Leader is Councillor Susan Hall and Chief Whip, Councillor John Nickolay.



Section 2 – Recommendations

- 2.1 That the return of Councillors elected, and their respective Wards, at the Borough Council elections on Thursday 6 May 2010, as set out in Appendix A, including the Membership of the respective political groups, be noted.
- 2.2 That the Group Officers, as set out in paragraph 1.2 above, be noted.

Section 3 - Contact Details and Background Papers

Contact:

Pauline Ferris, Democratic & Electoral Services Manager Tel: 020 8424 1269 E-mail: pauline.ferris@harrow.gov.uk

Background Papers:

- Notifications for Parties
- Notice of Results of City Council Elections held on 6 May 2010

APPENDIX 1

Ward	Members Elected	
BELMONT	SEYMOUR KARA MACLEOD-CULLINANE	Lynda Manji Barry
CANONS	AKHTAR COWAN ROMAIN	Musarrat Husain John Harvey Richard David
EDGWARE	CHOUDHURY DAVINE ASANTE	Mrinal Margaret Anne Nana
GREENHILL	ANDERSON PHILLIPS WEALTHY	Susan Bill Ben
HARROW ON THE HILL	GATE WILLIAMS GAWN	Ann Simon David
HARROW WEALD	CHAUHAN FERRARI GREEK	Ramji Anthony Stephen
HATCH END	HALL SHEINWALD LAMMIMAN	Susan Mary Stanley Jean
HEADSTONE NORTH	MOTE SEYMOUR BOND	Janet Teresa Anthony Harry James
HEADSTONE SOUTH	OMAR STEPHENSON SURESH	Asad Bill Sasikala
KENTON EAST	SILVER SHAH GREEN	Victoria Navin Fakirchand Mitzi
KENTON WEST	MARU TELI MITHANI	Ajay Yogesh Vina

Ward

PINNER

MARLBOROUGH

PINNER SOUTH

QUEENSBURY

RAYNERS LANE

ROXBOURNE

STANMORE PARK

WEALDSTONE

WEST HARROW

ROXETH

Members Elected

PARMAR JAMES PERRY

> CHAMPAGNIE, OBE WRIGHT OSBORN

MOTE NICKOLAY CHANA

KHALID ISMAIL SHAH

SURESH NOYCE NICKOLAY

CURRIE DHARMARAJAH HENSON

IDAIKKADAR MILES RAY

VERSALLION BATH BEDNELL

FERRY O'DELL SHAH

GATE MARIKAR STOODLEY Varsha Krishna David

Mavis Lurline Stephen John Leete Paul Simon

Charles Christopher John William Kamaljit

Zarina Nizam Alavi Sachin Ramesh

Krishna Christopher Lily Joyce

Robert William Manoharan Graham

Thayapara Jeremy Julian Radhikaranjan

Mark Anthony Camilla Marie Ann Christine Anne

Keith Phillip Rekha

Brian Edward Kairul Kareema William John